And the winner is… Niagara’s musicians honoured at annual awards

Stephan Moccio

Niagara native Stephan Moccio is a Grammy and Academy Award-nominated composer, producer, recording artist and recipient of a 2020 Global Achievement Award.

The 13th Niagara Music Awards, which were originally planned to take place at the Scotiabank Convention Centre, recently took place online. There were 26 awards handed out, with Port Colborne’s solo artist Gravely James taking home the most hardware with three wins (Blues, Folk, and Singer/Songwriter).

The 82 minute pre-recorded show featured several live off-the-floor recordings from Jukasa Studios.

There were also several pre-recorded greetings from high-profile Canadians working in the music industry – Jann Arden, Cone from the band ‘Sum 41’, Karl Wolf (Producer, Songwriter, Artist), and Neil Sanderson from ‘Three Days Grace’.

Highlighting the award show was a recorded performance by Grammy and Academy Award-nominated composer, producer, and recording artist Stephan Moccio, who is originally from Niagara Falls and now lives in Santa Monica, California. From the studio in his home, he performed a song on piano called “Whitby” from his new album ‘Tales of Solace’.

Moccio, who has co-written and co-produced songs for artists such as Celine Dion, The Weeknd, and Miley Cyrus, was presented with one of the two Global Achievement Awards handed out during the Niagara Music Awards. Shane Lindstrom from Fort Erie, known professionally as ‘Murda Beatz’, would win the other Global Achievement Award for his work as a Canadian record producer, DJ, and songwriter – collaborating with performers like Drake, Travis Scott, and Nicki Minaj.

The Niagara Music Awards can still be viewed on their website www.niagaramusicawards.ca or their YouTube Channel.

Here is the complete list of winners for the 13th Annual Niagara Music Awards:



VALERIE- Lockdown



Ryan Langdon- Lit in the sticks



Gravely James – all my money



Ryan Langdon Feelin That’



Protocell – Portal for Evil


Engineer  (tie)

Tawgs – Ryan Lunn – Embers

Daniel Belasco – Glass Apple Bonzai



VALERIE – Lockdown



Gravely James – Songs from Steve’s shed


Hip Hop

ILL table manners f. L.Write and Humble Hab




Willpower- Sold Soul



Mike Palermo- Taxi 13



Barbara Mantini – Not so fast


Male vocalist

Riley Michaels – Now I know


Music video

The Maysides – Any girl


New artist



New group

Daylight burners


Original group

Advancing low-lives



Original Song

Cassandra – I love Christmas



Brandon Walker – Jimmy Stahl Band – Just found out about love



Rob Repovs



The Maysides – Any girl






Gravely James – songs from Steve’s shed





Your donations help us continue to deliver the news and commentary you want to read. Please consider donating today.

Donate Today


  • Politics

  • Sports

  • Business